My Favourite Face Masks For Acne Prone Skin

After a gruelling assessment period I have been indulging in some much needed self care. Although face masks may seem like they are an “extra” in skin care, using them regularly can make a world of difference to the condition of your skin. With my skin concerns being oily, acne prone and hyper-pigmentation, incorporating masks into my skin care routine has improved the state of my skin. So I thought I would share the masks that I love to use the most.

himalayan-charcoal-purifying-glow-mask
The Body Shop – Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask Image from The Body Shop

The Body Shop –  Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask – £16

This mask helps reduce the amount of oil my skin excretes, tightens my pores and helps to dry up my pimples. The charcoal helps draw out excess oils and impurities. Very tingly whilst on and leaves my skin feeling fresh and menthol-y (?) after wiping away the mask.

MyChelle Pumpkin Peel
MyChelle – Incredible Pumpkin Peel. Image from iHerb

MyChelle – Incredible Pumpkin Peel – £21.91

This mask uses the enzymes from fermented pumpkin pulp to exfoliate the skin, helping to slough away dead skin cells. Exfoliation is key to reducing the appearance of hyper-pigmentation and so this mask helps this process. I’m personally not keen on the smell, however I can bear the smell for the 1-3 minutes the mask should be left on for. Leaves my skin feeling soft.

Ayumi Tumeric Mask
Ayumi Naturals – Turmeric & Papaya Face Mask. Image from Morrison.

Ayumi Naturals – Turmeric & Papaya Face Mask – £4.99

This mask is great for aiding hyper-pigmentation elimination as it contains Turmeric, which can improve complexion appearance. This also has an unpleasant smell (to me at least), and the packaging recommends that it be left on for approximately 20 minutes. I tolerate the smell as you kinda get used to it after a while.

shea-butter-face-mask-karite_grande
L’ACTION Paris – Shea Butter Face Mask. Image from L’ACTION

L’ACTION Paris – Shea Butter Face Mask – £1.00

Absolute FAVE! This mask contains Shea butter which is great for regenerating and moisturising the skin. It smells like chocolate and looks like cocoa butter. My skin feels so lush and smooth after using this mask. My skin routine is quite brutal and can be drying on my skin and so this mask brings some moisture back into my skin. The 12 minutes that are recommended to leave the mask on, don’t feel long enough! Who doesn’t love the smell of chocolate?!

*Please note that I am not a dermatologist and so I strongly recommend doing some research on the products before purchasing/using them. 

Leave a Reply

