My Current AM Skin Care Routine

None of the products mentioned in this post are sponsored.


Warning – I am NOT a dermatologist, these are just products that are currently working for me! I highly suggest doing your own research on any of the products discussed before you think about purchasing/using them.

As I mentioned in my previous post, these past few months the products and routine that I have been using have slowly been making a difference to how my skin looks. I have noticed a difference in texture, pore size and how dark my hyper-pigmentation is. So I have decided to post what has been working for me. Now my skin care routine is not for the faint hearted, as there is quite a few products involved here. So lets jump in…

AM Skin Care Part I
Left to Right – Bee Good Honey & Camelina Facial Exfoliator, Remington Reveal Fc1000 and Unani Il-luminate Milk Cleanser.

So to kick off the routine I cleanse using Unani’s Il-luminate Milk Cleanser and my Remington Reveal spin brush (excuse the discolouration on mine, it’s been stained from make up removal). Rinse the product off with warm water and lightly tap away the water with a CLEAN face towel. I suggest changing face towels daily as they harbour bacteria and may cause acne. I use a spin brush because regular exfoliation speeds up the process of lightening my hyper-pigmentation. I also use a spin brush because I use liquid exfoliants in my PM skin care routine and so I need to slough off any dead skin cells from the night before. I then go in with the Bee Good Exfoliator using circular motions and then wash off the product; finishing by tapping off the water with a face towel. I only use the Bee Good Exfoliator twice a week, as it is a scrub with little grains; I don’t want to use it too often as my skin may feel raw after.

 

AM skin care part II
Left to Right – The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA, The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Toner and The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%.

So after I have cleansed and exfoliated, I use The Body Shop Tea Tree Toner on a cotton round. I use this to help with acne prevention and to close up my pores. Once that dries (I wait 1-2 mins) I apply 2 drops of The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin using tapping motions, so that the product absorbs quickly. Once that product is absorbed I follow up with The Ordinary Niacinamide, using tapping motions again so that the product is absorbed.

Part III
Left to Right – Oolution Eye Love, Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50+, The Ordinary Rosehip Sseed Oil, Skin Food Peach Sake Pore Serum and Hydra Activ Smart Nutrient Day Cream HA+.

Next I apply 3 drops of The Ordinary Rosehip Seed Oil (again with tapping motions). This helps restore moisture to my skin after all the exfoliation and helps with the appearance of hyper-pigmentation.  I then follow this up using Biore UV SPF 50+. Using UV protection is important when using the products I am as not doing so can cause further damage to the skin. Also not using UV protection products can cause hyper-pigmentation to darken! I apply 2 dots of Oolution Eye love on the bags of my eyes to tackle any darkness and follow this with the Hydra Activ day cream. I apply the Skin Food Peach Sake Serum to my face next, to keep my face matte and prep for make up application.

That rounds off my whole AM routine. It seems like a long process but in real time it takes me around 10-15 mins! Like I said at the beginning of this post I strongly advise doing research on these products before purchasing/using them. I mainly purchase my The Ordinary products from Victoria Health, their website provides some detail on which products work for certain skin concerns, how to use them and has a guide on how to create a regimen. They are also available from ASOS .

For research purposes I would watch this video by Stephanie Nicole, she gives a great breakdown of most of The Ordinary skin care range.

*All text in red are hyperlinks.

Leave a Reply

